Gepetto Part 2

She was much too small, an insignificant tiny being.

With limbs spindly and lithe, and awkward gangly thing.

But her motions were graceful and she had a voice unmatched when she would sing.

She spoke softly, an almost voiceless whisper.

Her thoughts defined like the head of a pin.

Sharp and precise.

So, it was a shock when she asked if she was wrong.

The answer, a hell to express.

When my tone lowered along with my head, it all came flooding back,

The remembrance of that fateful day when Gepetto again gave life,

but then fell dead.

The oil crashing down my cheeks as his heart failed when he heard her voice box squeak.

She WAS a mistake. Not a being made to be.

Her proportions whittled away from emotions harbored deep.

His heart had become weak as I, a once happy child,

had found myself at an emotional peak, with the memory of a girl I knew passing away.

And this half-hearted creation in front of me KNEW she was the key to my pain.

Knew that the nearly charcoal wood and smell of ash, was the dearest secret I couldn’t keep.

No sister dearest, you are right…

More important than day and night, sun and moon.

You are the stars reason to shine and my sole reason of still being alive.

It never mattered that she was what caused my mouth to falter,

The streaks of brown and black, falling from head to back,

reminding me of a time long gone.

YOU were NEVER wrong.

Gepetto, our creator and a god amongst men,

Had the miraculous gift of bringing life back to the dead… He never made anything short of perfection.

You are the reason he survived his depression.

The object of my every affection.

The gift of reason and why we continue to thrive…

Then why do I wish I were a real girl?

A haunting question, the one I never could answer,

Spoken, from a different frame.

Let’s find out together.

The Pandoric Fae Poet

Devin Erebus Faye

~ by The Fayte Poet on 04/01/2013.

5 Responses to “Gepetto Part 2”

  1. I really like this, I think I’m going to have to read it a few more times to fully understand it, but definatly really beautiful

Leave a Reply

 
